Martin and Aument Offer Assistance to Municipalities Pursuing VGT Opt-Out

HARRISBURG – After a bill sponsored by Senators Scott Martin (R-13) and Ryan Aument (R-36) was signed into law this week to allow Lancaster County municipalities to opt-out of allowing video gaming terminals (VGTs) into their truck stops and gas stations, both lawmakers are now offering assistance to local municipalities who are interested in pursuing that option.

Martin and Aument sent a letter today to every municipality in Lancaster County to offer more information on the opt-out process. Municipalities that wish to opt-out are required to pass a resolution to that effect and deliver it to the Pennsylvania Gaming Control Board no later than August 31, 2019.

The letter, which was also signed by members of Lancaster County’s House delegation, included a copy of the new law and additional details regarding the decision to opt-out of allowing VGTs.

Every municipality in Lancaster County took advantage of a similar opt-out provision for the location of mini-casinos in local communities as part of a 2017 state law that expanded gambling opportunities throughout the state.

“Due to the short time frame that municipalities have to opt-out, it is critical for municipal officials to review all of the available information and make a decision as soon as possible,” Aument said. “Our offices stand ready to assist any municipality that needs help in navigating the opt-out process.”

“With passage of the new law, local municipalities face a decision that will affect our people, our communities and our economy,” Martin said. “Ensuring our communities could make this choice was the right thing to do. As local officials work to make the best choice for the people they represent, we are ready to help any.”

Senate Bill 321 was signed into law Tuesday as Act 63 of 2019.

CONTACT:  Terry Trego (717) 787-6535 (Senator Martin)

Ryan Boop (717) 787-4420 (Senator Aument)


Media Advisory – School property tax forum set for Wednesday at Pequea Valley HS Auditorium


The Senate Majority Policy Committee will hold a public forum on alternative solutions to the existing school property tax system in Pennsylvania.

Forum details can be found here. The public is also invited to attend and participate.


Members of the Senate Majority Policy Committee, including Committee Chairman David G. Argall (R-Schuylkill/Berks), Senators Scott Martin (R-Lancaster) and Ryan Aument (R-Lancaster)

Confirmed panelists include:

David Baldinger, PA Coalition of Taxpayer Associations
Ron Boltz, PA Liberty Alliance
Rita Dallago, Executive Director, PA Residential Owners Association
Daniel L. Forry, Chief Operating Officer, Hempfield School District
Alex Halper, Director, Government Affairs, PA Chamber of Business & Industry
Mark Mohn, Legislative Committee Chair, PA Association of Realtors
Jim Rodkey, PA Coalition of Taxpayer Associations
Lisa Schaefer, Director of Government Relations, County Commissioners Association of PA
Joel Sears, PA Coalition of Taxpayer Associations
Tim Shrom, Business Manager, Solanco School District
Darrin Youker, State Legislative Affairs Director, Pennsylvania Farm Bureau


Wednesday, August 30 at 7 p.m.


Pequea Valley High School Auditorium
4033 E. Newport Road
Kinzers, PA 1753 


For more information, please contact Jon Hopcraft at 717-787-2637 or